Walkthrough: Use Threema Safe to automatically create backups

Threema Safe allows to automatically create backups of your users’ most important Threema data and settings on a regular basis. By means of MDM parameters, you can determine whether your users can (A), cannot (B), or must (C) use Threema Safe. By default, Threema Safe can be used.

(A) Threema Safe can be used

Generally, you don’t need to adjust any MDM parameters if you want to allow your users to choose whether to use Threema Safe or not. Please note, however:

  • If you have set th_disable_backups is to true, you need to set this parameter tofalse in order to allow your users to use Threema Safe.

  • If you have already set th_safe_enable to true or false, you need to delete this parameter in order to allow your users to use Threema Safe. If th_safe_enable is set, it is either mandatory (true) or impossible (false) to use Threema Safe.

Use th_safe_server_url to specify the server on which Threema Safe backups are stored. If th_safe_server_url isn’t set, your users can store Threema Safe backups on the Threema server or on any other server. Learn how to set up your server for Threema Safe…

(B) Threema Safe cannot be used

Set th_safe_enable to false to prevent your users from using Threema Safe. If you have already set th_disable_backups to true, it’s not necessary to set the th_safe_enable parameter. If th_disable_backups is set to true, no backups can be created.

(C) Threema Safe must be used

First, make sure that th_disable_backups and th_skip_wizard are not set to true. Then, set th_safe_enable to true. This configuration enforces the use of Threema Safe.

If you want to store your users’ Threema Safe backups on your own server, specify the URL to the Threema Safe directory on your server in th_safe_server_url. If this parameter isn’t set, your users’ Threema Safe backups will be stored on the Threema server. If your server requires authentication, please specify username and password in th_safe_server_username and th_safe_server_password, respectively.

Automatically restore Threema ID: This requires an external MDM system and is not available in Threema MDM. If you set th_safe_password and th_safe_restore_id, the backup will be restored without user interaction. Users don’t need to enter a password when re-installing the app or switching to a new device and can continue to use Threema Work immediately.

Konfigurationshilfe: Automatische Backups mit Threema Safe

Threema Safe erstellt auf Wunsch regelmässig ein Backup der wichtigsten Daten und Einstellungen Ihrer Nutzer. Über MDM-Parameter lässt sich festlegen, ob Ihren Nutzern die Verwendung von Threema Safe freisteht (A) oder ob sie Threema Safe nicht verwenden können (B) bzw. verwenden müssen (C). Standardmässig kann Threema Safe genutzt werden.

(A) Threema Safe darf genutzt werden

Grundsätzlich brauchen Sie keine Anpassung an MDM-Parametern vorzunehmen, wenn Sie Ihren Nutzern überlassen möchten, ob sie Threema Safe verwenden oder nicht. Bitte beachten Sie aber:

  • Falls th_disable_backups auf true gesetzt ist, müssen Sie diesen Parameter auf false setzen, um Ihren Nutzern die Verwendung von Threema Safe zu ermöglichen.

  • Sofern Sie th_safe_enable bereits auf true oder auf false gesetzt haben, löschen Sie diesen Parameter bitte, um die Standardeinstellung wiederherzustellen und Ihren Nutzern die Verwendung von Threema Safe zu erlauben. Ist th_safe_enable gesetzt, ist die Nutzung von Threema Safe entweder obligatorisch (true) oder unmöglich (false).

Verwenden Sie th_safe_server_url, um festzulegen, auf welchem Server die Threema Safe-Backups gespeichert werden. Ist th_safe_server_url nicht gesetzt, können Ihre Nutzer die Threema Safe-Backups auf dem Threema-Server oder einem beliebigen anderen Server speichern. Informationen zur Server-Konfiguration …

(B) Threema Safe kann nicht genutzt werden

Wenn Sie th_disable_backups auf true gesetzt haben, können Ihre Nutzer Threema Safe nicht verwenden. Falls Sie th_disable_backups nicht auf true gesetzt haben, können Sie th_safe_enable auf false setzen, um zu verhindern, dass Ihre Nutzer Threema Safe verwenden.

(C) Threema Safe muss genutzt werden

Vergewissern Sie sich, dass die Parameter th_disable_backups und th_skip_wizard nicht auf true gesetzt sind, und setzen Sie anschliessend th_safe_enable auf true, um zu erzwingen, dass Ihre Nutzer Threema Safe verwenden.

Falls die Threema Safe-Backups Ihrer Nutzer auf Ihrem eigenen Server gespeichert werden sollen, geben Sie die URL zum Threema Safe-Verzeichnis auf Ihrem Server in th_safe_server an. Ist dieser Parameter nicht gesetzt, wird der Threema-Server verwendet. Falls Ihr Server eine Authentifizierung erfordert, legen Sie bitte Benutzername und Passwort in th_safe_server_username und th_safe_server_password fest.

Threema-ID automatisch wiederherstellen: Dies erfordert ein externes MDM-System und ist in Threema-MDM nicht verfügbar. Wenn th_safe_password und th_safe_restore_id gesetzt sind, wird das Backup ohne Zutun des Nutzers wiederhergestellt. So brauchen Nutzer auch bei einer Neuinstallation oder nach einem Gerätewechsel kein Passwort einzugeben und können sofort weiterarbeiten.