What do the three colored dots next to a contact mean?

The dots are an indicator for a contact's verification level. They don't affect the encryption strength, but are a measure for the probability, that the saved public key of a contact belongs indeed to that contact.

  • Level 1Level 1 (red): the ID and public key have been obtained from the server because you received a message from this contact for the first time or added the ID manually. No matching contact was found in your address book (by phone number or email), and therefore you cannot be sure that the person is who they claim to be in their messages.
  • Level 2Level 2 (orange): the ID has been matched with a contact in your address book (by phone number or email). Since the server verifies phone numbers and email addresses, you can be reasonably sure that the person is who they claim to be.
  • Level 3Level 3 (green): you have personally verified the ID and public key of the person by scanning their 2D code. Assuming their device has not been hijacked, you can be very sure that messages from this contact were really written by the person that they indicate.

The verification levels don't change anything in the encryption strength (it is alwaysthe same high-grade ECC based encryption), but they are a measure of thetrust that the public keys saved for your contacts really belong to them. Having thewrong public keys leaves you open to man-in-the-middle (MITM) attacks, therefore it isimportant to verify the keys.

Other useful topics

Was bedeuten die drei farbigen Punkte neben einem Kontakt?

Die Punkte geben die Vertrauensstufe eines Kontakts an. Sie ändern nichts an der Verschlüsselungsstärke, sondern sie sind ein Mass für die Sicherheit, dass der gespeicherte öffentliche Schlüssel eines Kontakts wirklich zu diesem gehört.

  • Level 1Stufe 1 (rot): ID und öffentlicher Schlüssel wurden vom Server geholt, weil zum ersten Mal von diesem Kontakt eine Nachricht eingetroffen ist (oder der Kontakt manuell hinzugefügt wurde). Da kein passender Kontakt im Adressbuch gefunden wurde (mit Handynummer/E-Mail), kann man sichnicht sicher sein, ob die Person wirklich die ist, die sie in ihren Nachrichten vorgibt zu sein.
  • Level 2Stufe 2 (orange): der Kontakt wurde im Adressbuch gefunden (mit Handynummer oder E-Mail). Da der Server Handynummernund E-Mail-Adressen prüft (SMS bzw. E-Mail mit Aktivierungslink), kann man sich ohne zusätzliches Verifizieren relativ sicher sein, dass diese Person wirklich diejenige ist, die man meint.
  • Level 3Stufe 3 (grün): der öffentliche Schlüssel der Person wurde persönlich durch Scannen des QR-Codes verifiziert. Solange das Gerät dieser Person nichtgestohlen/gehackt wurde, ist es ausgeschlossen, dass ein Dritter Nachrichten von dieser Person fälschen oder Nachrichten an diese Person mitlesen kann.

Wenn Sie die falschen öffentlichen Schlüssel haben, kann theoretisch eine sog. Man-in-the-Middle (MITM) Attacke durchgeführt werden.Daher ist es wichtig, die Schlüssel zu überprüfen.

Andere hilfreiche Themen