Threema Provides Maximum Security and Comprehensive Privacy Protection

No other chat service offers a similar level of security, metadata restraint, and confidentiality.

Security and Privacy by Design

Threema was designed from the ground up with security and privacy in mind. Since day one, the restraint on metadata has been our guiding principle. For where there is no data, no data can be misused. Threema’s server only assumes the role of a switch: After a message has been delivered to its recipient, it will be permanently deleted at once.

The focus on security and privacy protection is also reflected in the implementation of numerous particular features, such as profile pictures, Threema calls, and the web client.

Threema is committed to full transparency, and for this reason, the apps are open source. On top of that, renowned experts are regularly commissioned to conduct comprehensive security audits.

How does Threema stack up against Signal, Telegram, and WhatsApp? Find out:

Messenger Comparison
I have news about the YLO project… Could you send me the current report, please? Thank you!
Sure, I’ll send it right away… I'm curious about your YLO news! :-)

Consistent End-to-End Encryption

Threema employs the tried and tested open-source cryptography library NaCl. All messages are end-to-end encrypted, and the users are in control of the key exchange. This guarantees that no third party, not even the server operator, can decrypt messages.

The whole communication – including group messages, photos and videos, files, voice calls, and even status messages – is always end-to-end encrypted. In contrast to conventional messenger apps, a fallback to unencrypted connections is ruled out by design.

The algorithms and design decisions behind the cryptography in Threema are explained in the Cryptography Whitepaper.

Unparalleled Metadata Restraint

Threema is designed to generate as little data on servers as technically possible. Groups* and contact lists are solely managed on the users’ devices, not on the server, messages are deleted immediately upon delivery, no log files are created, and no personally identifiable information is collected.

Open Source und regelmässige Audits

Open Source and External Audits

To ensure full transparency, the Threema apps’ source code is publicly accessible and open for review. Thanks to reproducible builds, anyone can verify that the published code (of the Android app, for the time being) corresponds to the apps in the stores.

On top of that, external experts are regularly commissioned to conduct systematic security audits, and the resulting reports are published in their entirety.

My Threema ID
G2WHL1A8
Profile QR Code

Anonymous Use, No Account Required

It is not necessary to provide a phone number or email address in order to use Threema. When setting up the app, each user generates a Threema ID, which serves as unique identifier. Since this ID is a random sequence of characters, Threema can be used anonymously. No central user account is created.

Optional Contact Synchronization

Threema can be used without access to your address book. If you do grant access to the address book in order to retrieve your contacts’ Threema IDs, the contact data is transferred in one-way encrypted form and will not be stored on the server.

Threema bietet die höchste Sicherheit und umfassenden Datenschutz

Kein anderer Chat-Dienst weist ein vergleichbares Mass an Sicherheit, Metadatensparsamkeit und Vertraulichkeit auf.

Security and Privacy by Design

Threema wurde von Grund auf mit Fokus auf Sicherheit und Schutz der Privatsphäre entwickelt, und seit Anbeginn ist Metadaten-Sparsamkeit unser Leitmotiv. Denn wo keine Daten sind, können auch keine missbraucht werden. Bei Threema haben Server lediglich die Funktion einer Relaisstation; nach erfolgter Zustellung einer Nachricht wird sie umgehend gelöscht.

Das besondere Augenmerk auf Sicherheit und Schutz der Privatsphäre schlägt sich auch in der Umsetzung vieler einzelner Funktionen nieder, etwa bei Profilbildern, Sprachanrufen und dem Web-Client.

Threema ist voller Transparenz verpflichtet, und deshalb sind die Apps Open Source. Zudem werden regelmässig externe Experten mit der systematischen Sicherheitsüberprüfung betraut.

Wodurch sich Threema von Signal, Telegram und WhatsApp unterscheidet, erfahren Sie hier:

Vergleich mit anderen Messenger
Ich habe Neuigkeiten zum YLO-Projekt… Würdest du mir bitte bei Gelegenheit noch den aktuellen Bericht schicken? Danke!
Sicher, ich schicke ihn dir sofort… Ich bin gespannt, was du Neues zum Projekt zu erzählen hast! :-)

Durchgängige Ende-zu-Ende-Verschlüsselung

Threema setzt die anerkannte und bewährte Open Source-Verschlüsselungstechnologie NaCl ein, und die gesamte Kommunikation ist immer Ende-zu-Ende-verschlüsselt. Alle Nachrichten – auch Gruppenchats, Medien, Dateien, Sprachanrufe und sogar Statusmeldungen – sind so bestens vor Aushorchen durch Dritte geschützt. Im Gegensatz zu herkömmlichen Messengern ist kein Rückgriff auf unverschlüsselte Verbindungen möglich. Ausser dem vorgesehenen Empfänger kann niemand Ihre Nachrichten lesen.

The algorithms and design decisions behind the cryptography in Threema are explained in detail in the Cryptography Whitepaper.

Höchstmass an Metadaten-Sparsamkeit

Threema ist so konzipiert, dass keine Datenspur entsteht: Gruppen* und Kontaktlisten werden auf Ihrem Gerät verwaltet, nicht auf dem Server; Nachrichten werden sofort nach Zustellung gelöscht, und es werden keine Log-Dateien über die Kommunikation und personenbezogene Daten gespeichert.

Open Source und regelmässige Audits

Open Source und externe Audits

Um volle Transparenz zu gewährleisten, ist der Quellcode der Threema-Apps offen und für jedermann einsehbar. Dank Reproducible Builds lässt sich (unter Android) verifizieren, dass der publizierte Code mit dem übereinstimmt, welcher den Apps in den Stores zugrunde liegt.

Zusätzlich werden regelmässig externe Experten mit der systematischen Sicherheits-Prüfung von Threema betraut, und die entsprechenden Audit-Berichte sind vollumfänglich öffentlich verfügbar.

Meine Threema-ID
G2WHL1A8
Profile QR Code

Anonyme Nutzung, kein Konto erforderlich

Die Nutzung von Threema ist an keine Telefonnummer oder E-Mail-Adresse geknüpft. Jeder Benutzer generiert beim Einrichten der App eine zufällige Threema-ID. Dadurch kann Threema anonym genutzt werden. Bei Threema wird kein zentrales Benutzerkonto erstellt.

Optionaler Adressbuch-Zugriff

Threema lässt sich auch ohne Zugriff auf das Adressbuch uneingeschränkt nutzen. Falls Sie Zugriff auf das Adressbuch gewähren, um automatisch die Threema-IDs Ihrer Adressbuch-Kontakte in Threema einzupflegen, werden die Kontaktdaten ausschliesslich einwegverschlüsselt übermittelt und zu keinem Zeitpunkt auf einem Datenträger gespeichert.