What is the QR code good for?

This FAQ article covers the QR code that can be displayed in the app (and is used to confirm a contact’s identity and add their Threema ID at the same time; green verification level), not to be confused with the QR code on threema.id websites (which can only be used to add contacts; red verification level).

Scanning QR codes is a means for confirming contacts' identities. That way, man-in-the-middle attacks can be effectively prevented: If you receive a message of a confirmed contact (i.e., verification level 3), you can be sure that it wasn't spoofed or read by a third party (provided said contact's device wasn't stolen or hacked). On top of that, scanning someone's QR code is a convenient way of adding them to your contact list without having to manually enter their ID.

Display your own QR code

  • Android: Navigate to the “My Profile” tab, and tap on the QR code icon
  • iOS: Navigate to the “My Profile” tab, and tap on the QR code

Scan a contact’s QR code

  • Android: In the Contacts tab, tap the “New contact” button, and select “Scan ID”
  • iOS: Threema > My Profile > camera icon in the top right corner

If you are having trouble scanning a QR code, please make sure the camera is not too close (below 10 in/25 cm), which might prevent it from focussing.

Please note: The QR code of contacts should not be confused with the QR code of ID exports and the QR code used to connect to Threema Web.

Related articles

The dots are an indicator for a contact's verification level. They don't affect the encryption strength, but are a measure for the probability, that the saved public key of a contact belongs indeed to that contact.

  • Level 1Level 1 (red): The ID and public key have been obtained from the server because you received a message from this contact for the first time or added the ID manually. No matching contact was found in your address book (by phone number or email), and therefore you cannot be sure that the person is who they claim to be in their messages.
  • Level 2Level 2 (orange): The ID has been matched with a contact in your address book (by phone number or email). Since the server verifies phone numbers and email addresses, you can be reasonably sure that the person is who they claim to be.
  • Level 2Level 2 (blue): This verification level is only available in Threema Work; it indicates that the Threema ID belongs to an internal company contact.
  • Level 3Level 3 (green): You have personally verified the ID and public key of the person by scanning their QR code. Assuming their device has not been hijacked, you can be very sure that messages from this contact were really written by the person that they indicate.
  • Level 3 (blue)Level 3 (blue): This verification level is only available in Threema Work; it indicates that the Threema ID belongs to an internal contact whose ID and public key you have verified by scanning their QR code.

The verification levels don't change anything in the encryption strength (it is always the same high-grade ECC based encryption), but they are a measure of thetrust that the public keys saved for your contacts really belong to them. Having the wrong public keys leaves you open to man-in-the-middle (MITM) attacks, therefore it isimportant to verify the keys.

Threema allows to verify that the ID of the person you are communicating with is really theirs.

If you are sure about your chat partner's ID, then there's no way for an attacker to spoof or intercept/decrypt a message from or to your chat partner.

The connection between the app and the servers is secure against MITM attacks because the server authenticates itself to the app based on a public key that is hard-coded into the app and whose corresponding secret key is only known by the legitimate servers.

Please note: Threema can only be as secure as the device that it is running on. Malware that runs in the background on your device can intercept and falsify data without being noticed. We highly recommend to always install the most recent operating system updates and to only use software from trusted sources.

Show all FAQs

Learn more…

Wofür ist der QR-Code da?

Dieser FAQ-Artikel behandelt den QR-Code, welcher in der App angezeigt wird (und zum Bestätigen der Identität und zum Hinzufügen von Kontakten dient; grüne Vertrauensstufe), nicht zu verwechseln mit dem QR-Code auf threema.id-Webseiten (welcher nur zum Hinzufügen von Kontakten dient; rote Vertrauensstufe)

Das Scannen des QR-Codes dient dazu, die Identität eines Kontakts zu bestätigen. Dadurch können Man-in-the-Middle-Attacken effektiv verhindert werden: Erhalten Sie eine Nachricht eines so bestätigten Kontakts (Vertrauensstufe 3), ist gewährleistet, dass die Nachricht nicht von Dritten gefälscht oder gelesen wurde (sofern das Gerät des betreffenden Kontakts nicht gestohlen oder gehackt wurde). Zudem ist das Scannen von QR-Codes eine bequeme Art, anwesende Personen als Kontakte hinzuzufügen, ohne deren IDs abtippen zu müssen.

Eigenen QR-Code anzeigen

  • Navigieren Sie zum «Mein Profil»-Reiter und tippen Sie auf das QR-Code-Symbol

QR-Code scannen

  • Android: Tippen Sie im «Kontakte»-Reiter auf «Neuer Kontakt», und wählen Sie «ID scannen»
  • iOS: Threema > «Mein Profil» > Kamera-Symbol oben rechts

Sollten Sie Schwierigkeiten beim Scannen haben, vergewissern Sie sich bitte, dass genügend Abstand (über 25 cm) zum QR-Code besteht, damit die Kamera fokussieren kann.

Verwandte Einträge

Die Punkte geben die Vertrauensstufe eines Kontakts an. Sie ändern nichts an der Verschlüsselungsstärke, sondern sind ein Mass für die Sicherheit, dass der gespeicherte öffentliche Schlüssel eines Kontakts wirklich zu diesem gehört.

  • Level 1Stufe 1 (rot): ID und öffentlicher Schlüssel wurden vom Server geholt, weil zum ersten Mal von diesem Kontakt eine Nachricht eingetroffen ist (oder der Kontakt manuell hinzugefügt wurde). Da kein passender Kontakt im Adressbuch gefunden wurde (mit Handynummer/E-Mail), kann man sich nicht sicher sein, ob die Person wirklich die ist, die sie in ihren Nachrichten vorgibt zu sein.
  • Level 2Stufe 2 (orange): Der Kontakt wurde im Adressbuch gefunden (mit Handynummer oder E-Mail). Da der Server Handynummern und E-Mail-Adressen prüft (SMS bzw. E-Mail mit Aktivierungslink), kann man sich ohne zusätzliches Verifizieren relativ sicher sein, dass diese Person wirklich diejenige ist, die man meint.
  • Level 2Stufe 2 (blau): Diese Vertrauensstufe ist nur in Threema Work verfügbar und zeigt an, dass es sich um einen internen Firmenkontakt handelt.
  • Level 3Stufe 3 (grün): Der öffentliche Schlüssel der Person wurde persönlich durch Scannen des QR-Codes verifiziert. Solange das Gerät dieser Person nicht gestohlen/gehackt wurde, ist es ausgeschlossen, dass ein Dritter Nachrichten von dieser Person fälschen oder Nachrichten an diese Person mitlesen kann.
  • Stufe 3 (blau)Stufe 3 (blau): Diese Vertrauensstufe ist nur in Threema Work verfügbar und zeigt an, dass Sie den öffentlichen Schlüssel dieses internen Kontakts durch Scannen des QR-Codes verifiziert haben.

Wenn Sie die falschen öffentlichen Schlüssel haben, kann theoretisch eine sog. Man-in-the-Middle (MITM) Attacke durchgeführt werden. Daher ist es wichtig, die Schlüssel zu überprüfen.

Threema ermöglicht Ihnen, über einen sicheren Kanal (vorzugsweise persönlich) zu überprüfen, dass die ID der Person, mit der Sie kommunizieren, wirklich ihr gehört.

Wenn Sie sich über die ID Ihres Konversationspartners sicher sind, gibt es für einen Angreifer keinen Weg, Nachrichten von oder zu Ihrem Partner zu fälschen oder abzufangen bzw. zu entschlüsseln.

Die Verbindung zwischen der App und den Servern ist gegen MITM-Attacken gesichert, weil sich der Server bei der App mit einem Schlüssel authentifiziert, der fest in die App einprogrammiert ist und dessen entsprechender privater Schlüssel nur den legitimen Servern bekannt ist.

Bitte beachten Sie: Threema kann nur so sicher sein wie das Gerät, auf dem die App betrieben wird. Malware, die auf Ihrem Gerät im Hintergrund läuft, kann unbemerkt Daten ausspähen oder fälschen. Wir empfehlen dringend, immer die aktuellsten Updates des Betriebssystems zu installieren und nur Software aus vertrauenswürdigen Quellen zu verwenden.

Alle FAQs anzeigen

Alle FAQs anzeigen