Will my address book data be sent to your servers?

That is your decision – Threema can be used without any address book access. If you have disabled the synchronization in Threema, no address book data will be read. You will then have to manually add your Threema contacts (by typing in their IDs or scanning QR codes).

If you decide to use the synchronization, email addresses and phone numbers from your address book will only be transmitted to the server in one-way encrypted (“hashed”) form and additionally protected using SSL. The servers only keep these hashes in volatile memory for a short time to determine the list of matching IDs, and then delete the hashes immediately. At no point are the hashes or the results of the synchronization written to disk.

Please note: due to the relatively low number of possible phone number combinations, it is theoretically possible to crack hashes of phone numbers by trying all possibilities. This is due to the nature of hashes and phone numbers and cannot be solved differently (using salts like for hashing passwords does not work for this kind of data matching). Therefore we treat phone number hashes with the same care as if they were raw/unhashed phone numbers.

Other useful topics

Werden meine Adressbuchdaten übertragen?

Das ist Ihre Entscheidung – Threema kann auch ohne Adressbuchzugriff verwendet werden. Wenn Sie die Synchronisation in Threema ausgeschaltet haben, werden keine Adressbuchdaten ausgelesen. Sie müssen dann Ihre Threema-Kontakte manuell hinzufügen (durch Eingabe der ID oder Scan des QR-Codes).

Wenn Sie die Synchronisation verwenden, werden E-Mail-Adressen und Telefonnummern aus dem Adressbuch nur einwegverschlüsselt («gehasht») und zusätzlich mit SSL gesichert an unsere Server übertragen. Die Server halten diese Hashes nur kurzzeitig im Arbeitsspeicher, um die Liste der übereinstimmenden IDs zu ermitteln, und löschen sie sofort wieder. Zu keinem Zeitpunkt werden die Hashes oder die Ergebnisse des Abgleichs auf einen Datenträger geschrieben.

Bitte beachten Sie: aufgrund der relativ wenigen möglichen Zahlenkombinationen von Telefonnummern können Hashes davon theoretisch per Brute-Force-Attacke (= Durchprobieren aller Möglichkeiten) entschlüsselt werden. Dies ist prinzipbedingt und kann nicht anders gelöst werden (die Verwendung von Salts wie beim Hashing von Passwörtern funktioniert für so einen Datenabgleich nicht). Wir behandeln daher die Telefonnummern-Hashes mit der selben Vorsicht, als wenn es rohe/ungehashte Telefonnummern wären.

Andere hilfreiche Themen