How does Threema compare to other messengers with encryption?

Many developers of messengers claim that their app encrypts the messages that users exchange. However, there are important factors to take into account:

Type of encryption

Other messengers: Transport encryption. With some messengers, only the connection between the user’s device and the server is encrypted, e.g. using SSL/TLS. Although this means that messages cannot be intercepted while in transit (a common problem in public wireless LAN hotspots), they are in unencrypted form again once they reach the server.

Threema: Full end-to-end encryption. Threema protects all messages using end-to-end encryption – not only messages in single chats but also group messages, files, and even profile pictures and status messages. A fallback to unencrypted or merely transport-encrypted connections is impossible. In addition, a separate transport encryption is used to protect the header information in transit.

Encryption library

Other messengers: Proprietary encryption technologies and algorithms. Some messengers use self-created encryption methods which aren’t established or which are controversial among experts.

Threema: Tried and trusted open-source encryption. Threema uses NaCl, a well-respected and widely used open-source encryption library. Using Threema’s Validation Logging, anyone can independently verify the correct application of the encryption.

Contact verification

Other messengers: No means of verifying contacts’ public keys. If there is no way for users to verify that messages are actually encrypted with a contact’s proper public key, a messenger is open to MITM attacks. The service provider could easily manipulate the automatic key exchange in order to read or forge messages without users noticing it.

Threema: Verification of contacts’ identities. With Threema, users can verify others’ identities by scanning their QR codes. This way, MITM attacks are prevented, and users can be sure that the key they’re using to encrypt messages to a certain user is actually the intended recipient’s public key, not someone else’s.

Key-pair generation

Other messengers: Unspecified key-pair generation. Key pairs (private key and public key) are the pivotal element of asymmetric encryption, yet many messenger providers don’t disclose how the key pairs are actually created. If key pairs are created and distributed by the service provider, the provider could keep a copy of the users’ private keys, which essentially means that there is a backdoor.

Threema: Local key-pair generation based on randomness. Threema’s key-pair generation is performed on users’ devices by means of randomness. The private keys never leave the users’ devices and remain unknown to Threema. Therefore, it is technically impossible for Threema to decrypt users’ messages.

Local encryption

Other messengers: Insufficient protection on users’ devices. Chats and files that are stored on users’ devices are protected only by weak encryption or are not encrypted at all.

Threema: Strong encryption on users’ devices. Chats and files that are stored on users’ devices are protected by strong encryption.

External security audits regularly review all security aspects of Threema, the used algorithms and protocols are well-documented, and the correct application of the encryption can be verified independently.

Other useful topics

Was unterscheidet Threema von anderen populären Messengern mit Verschlüsselung?

Viele Betreiber von Messengern geben an, dass die Nachrichten verschlüsselt übertragen werden. Es gibt aber dennoch wichtige Unterschiede:

Art der Verschlüsselung

Andere Messenger: Reine Transportverschlüsselung. Bei gewissen Diensten wird für alle oder für einzelne Nachrichten lediglich die Verbindung zwischen dem Mobilgerät und dem Server verschlüsselt, z.B. mittels SSL/TLS. Damit können zwar Nachrichten auf dem Transportweg über das Netzwerk nicht abgefangen werden (was ein häufiges Problem gerade in öffentlichen WLAN-Hotspots ist), aber auf dem Server liegen die Nachrichten wieder in unverschlüsselter Form vor. Häufig besteht keine Transparenz darüber, wie die konkrete Nachricht tatsächlich verschlüsselt wurde.

Threema: Vollständige, durchgängige Ende-zu-Ende-Verschlüsselung. Threema setzt für alle Nachrichten (auch für  Nachrichten in Gruppenchats, Dateien, Profilbilder und Statusnachrichten) Ende-zu-Ende-Verschlüsselung Ende-zu-Ende-Verschlüsselung ein. Ein Fallback auf unverschlüsselte oder nur transportverschlüsselte Verbindungen ist nicht möglich. Zusätzlich kommt eine separate Transportverschlüsselung zum Einsatz, um die Header-Informationen (Angabe, an wen die Nachricht zugestellt werden soll etc.) beim Transport über das Internet zu schützen.

Verwendete Verschlüsselungsbibliothek

Andere Messenger: Nutzung proprietärer Verschlüsselungstechnologien und -algorithmen. Es wird eine selbst entwickelte Verschlüsselungsmethode eingesetzt, die sich noch nicht ausreichend bewährt hat oder die in Kryptographie-Kreisen umstritten ist. 

Threema: Nutzung einer anerkannten Open Source-Verschlüsselung. Threema setzt mit NaCl eine weit verbreitete und bewährte Open Source-Bibliothek zur Verschlüsselung ein. Mittels Validation Logging lässt sich die korrekte Anwendung der Verschlüsselung jederzeit unabhängig überprüfen.

Verifizierbarkeit von Kontakten

Andere Messenger: Keine Möglichkeit zur Schlüsselüberprüfung. Der Benutzer hat keinerlei Möglichkeit, zu überprüfen, ob der ihm bekannte öffentliche Schlüssel seines Konversationspartners wirklich zu dem privaten Schlüssel gehört, welcher einzig und allein dem Partner bekannt ist. Dadurch ist es für den Betreiber ein Leichtes, bei Bedarf unbemerkt eine MITM-Attacke durchzuführen, indem er den automatisierten Schlüsselaustausch manipuliert. In der Folge kann er sämtliche ausgetauschten Nachrichten lesen und ggf. auch verfälschen.

Threema: Schlüsselüberprüfung durch Scannen des QR-Codes. Jeder Nutzer kann die Identität und die Schlüssel eines Kontaktes mit einfachen Mitteln verifizieren, indem der QR-Code gescannt wird. So lassen sich MITM-Attacken ausschliessen.

Generierung des Schlüsselpaars

Andere Messenger: Unklare Erzeugung des Schlüsselspaars. Mit den Schlüsselpaaren (privater und öffentlicher Schlüssel) werden Nachrichten Ende-zu-Ende verschlüsselt. Bei vielen Anbietern ist der Prozess für die Schlüsselpaar-Erzeugung nicht transparent. Es ist möglich, dass die Schlüsselpaare zentral vom Anbieter erzeugt und verteilt werden. Der Anbieter könnte daher eine Kopie des privaten Schlüssels besitzen, was ein Backdoor-Risiko darstellt.

Threema: Dezentrale und zufällige Erzeugung des Schlüsselpaars. Bei Threema erfolgt die Generierung des Schlüsselpaars dezentral auf den einzelnen Geräten der Nutzer. Die privaten Schlüssel verlassen die Geräte nie und bleiben Threema unbekannt. Threema kann daher keine Nachrichteninhalte entschlüsseln.

Lokale Verschlüsselung

Andere Messenger: Unzureichende Verschlüsselung auf Endgerät. Auf dem Handy gespeicherte Chats und Medien sind nicht oder schwach verschlüsselt.

Threema: Starke Verschlüsselung auf Endgerät. Die auf dem Handy gespeicherten Chats und Medien sind stark verschlüsselt.

Regelmässige Sicherheits-Audits überprüfen alle sicherheitsrelevanten Aspekte, und zudem sind alle eingesetzten Verfahren und Protokolle umfassend dokumentiert und die korrekte Anwendung der Verschlüsselung unabhängig verifizierbar.

Andere hilfreiche Themen