Video transmission doesn’t work properly: What can I do?

The quality of video calls depends on various factors. The most important factor is the available bandwidth of the caller and callee . If you experience problems with the transmission of the videos when conducting Threema calls, please connect both smartphones to a different network (e.g., to another Wi-Fi network or to the mobile network) for testing purposes.

On Android, media codecs might also cause problems. Media codecs are software components of your smartphone’s operating system that process incoming and outgoing video data streams and generate visible image sequences based on them.

In Threema, change the used codecs used in “Settings > About Threema > Troubleshooting > Video codecs.” Please use “Software codecs,” and test if the problem persists using this setting. The setting becomes active when conducting the next calls, it is not necessary to restart the app or your device. However, using software codecs can slightly increase your device’s energy consumption during video calls.

Probleme bei der Video-Übertragung: Was kann ich tun?

Die Qualität von Video-Anrufen hängt von verschiedenen Faktoren ab. Der wichtigste Faktor ist die verfügbare Bandbreite von Anrufer und Empfänger. Sollten Sie Probleme mit der Video-Übertragung haben, verbinden Sie bitte beide Smartphones versuchsweise mit einem anderen Netzwerk (z.B. mit einem anderen WLAN oder dem Mobilfunknetz).

Unter Android kann es zusätzlich auch Probleme mit den Medien-Codecs geben. Medien-Codecs sind Software-Komponenten Ihres Smartphone-Betriebssystems, welche Video-Datenströme verarbeiten und daraus sichtbare Bild-Sequenzen generieren.

In Threema lassen sich unter «Einstellungen > Über Threema > Fehlerbehebung > Video-Codecs» die verwendeten Codecs ändern. Testen Sie bitte, ob das Problem mit der Einstellung «Software-Codecs» verschwindet. Die Option wird nach Änderung mit dem nächsten Anruf aktiv, ein Neustart des Geräts ist nicht nötig. Die Nutzung von Software-Codecs kann allerdings zu leicht erhöhtem Energieverbrauch während Video-Anrufen führen.