Why do I only receive messages once I open the app?

If you only receive incoming messages once you open the app (and/or if you are unable to re-establish a connection to Threema Web), the reason for this behavior could be: 1.) the app isn't allowed to run in the background; 2.) the apps isn't allowed to transmit data in the background.

Device-specific troubleshooting

Please navigate to “Settings > Troubleshooting > Fix device configuration problems” in Threema. First, select “Disable power restrictions” (if available), and follow the on-screen instructions. Then, select “Enable background data” (if available), and follow the on-screen instructions.

If the problem persists and you use a device by one of the listed manufacturers, please follow these device-specific steps:

General troubleshooting

The menu paths specified here apply to Android 10. Depending on Android version and device manufacturer, the paths may vary. Should you be unable to find the respective settings, please use the search feature in the Android Settings.

  1. Restart device: First, reboot your phone.
  2. Check connectivity: Make sure that your device is connected to the Internet.
  3. Review app notification: In “Android settings > Apps & notifications > See all apps > Threema > Notifications > please activate “Show notifications”.
  4. Disable “restrict background data”: First, navigate to “Android settings > Apps & Notification > See all apps > Threema > Mobile data & Wi-Fi” and make sure that “Background data” and “Unrestricted data usage” are both activated. Repeat this process with “Google Play services”.
  5. Deactivate Android’s Battery Saver mode or add Threema to exclusion list: Turn off your device’s Battery Saver mode, or add Threema to the exclusion list: In Android settings, navigate to “Apps & Notifcations > See all apps > Threema > Advanced > Battery > Battery optimisation”, scroll to “Threema”, and select “Don’t optimize”.
  6. Reset notification sound settings: In Threema, navigate to Settings > Troubleshooting > Reset, and select “Reset notification sound settings”.
  7. Reset push token: If the issue persists after you have completed all steps listed above, please reset the push token in Threema “Settings > Troubleshooting > Reset push token”.
  8. Update Google Play services: Make sure that you are using the most recent version of Google Play Services.

Please also note:

  • Immediate notifications: If the push service is working properly but push notifications aren’t displayed, please activate “Immediate notifications” in Threema > Settings > Troubleshooting. If this experimental setting is enabled, a generic notification will be displayed if incoming messages can't be downloaded.
  • Force-quitting Threema: If you quit Threema in “Android Settings > Apps & Notifications > See all apps > Threema” by selecting “Force stop”, you won’t receive push notifications until you reopen the app.
  • Third-party applications: System-optimization apps by third-party developers can interfere with Threema. If you use anti-virus, battery-saver or similar apps, please temporarily deactivate them for testing purposes, or add Threema to the apps’ exclusion lists.
  • Muted chats: If you don’t receive notifications of incoming messages from a specific contact or group, select “Notification settings” in the chat’s menu, and make sure that “Disable notifications” is deactivated.
  • Delays on Android 6 and above: On Android 6 and later, push notifications will be delayed by a few minutes if your device is stationary for a certain amount of time. This is due to Android’s Doze Mode, which significantly reduces power consumption during standby.
  • Polling: If Polling is activated in Threema > Settings  Troubleshooting, notifications of incoming messages will be delayed (depending on the selected interval).

Should the problem persist after you have considered all suggestions listed here, please contact the manufacturer of your device.

Other useful topics

Warum erhalte ich Nachrichten erst, wenn ich die App öffne?

Es kann verschiedene Gründe dafür geben, dass eingehende Nachrichten erst beim Öffnen der App empfangen werden.

Gerätespezifische Fehlersuche

Bitte befolgen Sie zunächst die gerätespezifischen Schritte, wenn Sie ein entsprechendes Handy verwenden:

Allgemeine Fehlersuche

  1. Gerät neu starten: Als erstes starten Sie bitte Ihr Handy neu.
  2. Internetverbindung prüfen: Vergewissern Sie sich, dass eine stabile Internetverbindung besteht, und stellen Sie sicher, dass WLAN im Standby-Modus nicht deaktiviert wird: Android-Einstellungen > WLAN > Erweitert > WLAN im Ruhemodus aktiviert lassen > Immer
  3. App-Benachrichtigungen prüfen: Überprüfen Sie, ob nicht versehentlich App-Benachrichtigungen deaktiviert wurden: Android-Einstellungen > Ton & Benachrichtigungen > App-Benachrichtigungen > Alle Apps > Threema: «Alle blockieren» ausgeschaltet, «Als Priorität behandeln» eingeschaltet.
  4. «Hintergrunddaten beschränken» deaktivieren: Navigieren Sie in den Android-Einstellungen zu «Datennutzung» bzw. «Datenverbrauch», drücken Sie die Menü-Taste, und stellen Sie sicher, dass «Hintergrunddaten beschränken» ausgeschaltet ist. Tippen Sie in dieser Liste auf «Threema», und stellen Sie sicher, dass «App-Hintergrunddaten beschränken» deaktiviert ist. Wiederholen Sie den Vorgang für «Google Play-Dienste».
  5. Batteriespar-Funktion deaktivieren oder Threema in Ausschlussliste aufnehmen: Deaktivieren Sie etwaige Batteriespar-Funktionen Ihres Geräts oder fügen Sie Threema der betreffenden Ausschlussliste hinzu. Navigieren Sie zu «Android-Einstellungen > Akku > Akku-Leistungsoptimierung > Alle Apps», suchen Sie «Threema», und wählen Sie dort «Nicht optimieren».
  6. Benachrichtigungen zurücksetzen: Setzen Sie unter «Threema > Einstellungen > Fehlerbehebung > Benachrichtigungstöne zurücksetzen» die Einstellungen der Benachrichtigungstöne auf den Originalzustand zurück.
  7. Push-Token zurücksetzen: Sollten alle bisherigen Schritte keine Abhilfe geschafft haben, setzen Sie bitte das Push Token hier zurück: «Threema Einstellungen > Fehlerbehebung > Push-Token zurücksetzen»
  8. Google Play-Dienste aktualisieren: Überprüfen Sie, ob die aktuelle Version der Google Play-Dienste installiert ist, und aktualisieren Sie diese gegebenenfalls.

Bitte beachten Sie auch Folgendes:

  • Sofortige Benachrichtigung: Wenn der Push-Dienst zwar funktioniert, die Push-Benachrichtigungen aber nicht angezeigt werden, aktivieren Sie bitte «Sofortige Benachrichtigung» unter «Einstellungen > Fehlerbehebung». Ist diese Einstellung aktiviert, wird eine generische Benachrichtigung angezeigt, wenn eingehende Nachrichten nicht heruntergeladen werden konnten.
  • Forciertes Beenden von Threema: Wenn Sie Threema beenden, indem Sie im App Manager «Beenden erzwingen» wählen, erhalten Sie keine weiteren Benachrichtigungen, bis Threema neu gestartet wird.
  • Drittanbieter-Apps: Antivirus-, Energiespar-, und Systemoptimierungs-Apps von Drittanbietern können verursachen, dass keine Push-Benachrichtigungen angezeigt werden. Wenn Sie solche Apps verwenden, deaktivieren Sie diese bitte testweise (oder stellen Sie sicher, dass Threema nicht von deren Aktivitäten betroffen ist).
  • Stummgeschaltete Chats: Wenn Sie von einem bestimmten Kontakt oder einer bestimmten Gruppe keine Benachrichtigung über eingehende Nachrichten erhalten, öffnen Sie bitten den betreffenden Chat, tippen Sie im Menü auf «Benachrichtigungseinstellungen», und stellen Sie sicher, dass «Keine Benachrichtigung» nicht aktiviert.
  • Verzögerungen unter Android 6.0 und neuer: Beachten Sie, dass unter Android 6.0 und neuer eine Verzögerung der Benachrichtigungen von einigen Minuten normal ist, wenn Ihr Gerät längere Zeit nicht bewegt wurde. Dies ist auf den Doze-Modus von Android zurückzuführen, welcher den Energieverbrauch drastisch reduziert, wenn das das Handy nicht genutzt wird.
  • Polling: Wenn Polling (in Threema unter «Fehlerbehebung») eingeschaltet ist, tritt, je nach gewähltem Intervall, eine Verzögerung ein bei der Benachrichtigung über eingehende Nachrichten.

Sollte das Problem nach Berücksichtigung der hier aufgeführten Angaben fortbestehen, wenden Sie sich bitte an den Hersteller Ihres Handys.

Andere hilfreiche Themen