Video transmission doesn’t work properly: What can I do?

The quality of video calls depends on various factors. The most important factor is the available bandwidth of the caller and callee . If you experience problems with the transmission of the videos when conducting Threema calls, please connect both smartphones to a different network (e.g., to another Wi-Fi network or to the mobile network) for testing purposes.

On Android, media codecs might also cause problems. Media codecs are software components of your smartphone’s operating system that process incoming and outgoing video data streams and generate visible image sequences based on them.

In Threema, change the used codecs used in “Settings > About Threema > Troubleshooting > Video codecs.” Please use “Software codecs,” and test if the problem persists using this setting. The setting becomes active when conducting the next calls, it is not necessary to restart the app or your device. However, using software codecs can slightly increase your device’s energy consumption during video calls.

Problèmes avec la transmission vidéo : que faire ?

La qualité des appels vidéo dépend de plusieurs facteurs. Le facteur le plus important est la bande passante disponible de l’appelant et du récepteur. Si vous avez des problèmes avec la transmission vidéo, essayez de connecter les deux smartphones à un autre réseau (par exemple, un autre WLAN ou le réseau mobile).

Sur Android, il peut également y avoir des problèmes avec les codecs média. Les codecs média sont des composants logiciels du système d’exploitation de votre smartphone qui traitent les flux de données vidéo et génèrent des séquences d’images visibles à partir de ceux-ci.

Dans Threema, vous pouvez modifier les codecs utilisés sous « Réglages > À propos de Threema > Dépannage > Codecs vidéo ». Veuillez tester si le problème disparaît avec le paramètre « Software codecs ». L’option devient active après le changement lors du prochain appel, un redémarrage de l’appareil n’est pas nécessaire. Toutefois, l’utilisation de software codecs peut entraîner une légère augmentation de la consommation d’énergie pendant les appels vidéo.