How can I leave or delete a group?

Android

As group administrator, you can delete a group at once, without having to remove all members manually. Please note: After you have deleted a group, other group members can’t use it anymore, but the group messages will not be deleted. To delete a group, open it, tap on the group’s name in the title bar, open the menu and select “Delete group”,

As a regular group member, you cannot delete a group, but you can leave it. Please note: When leaving a group, the group messages will not be deleted. To leave a group, open it, tap on the group’s name in the title bar, open the menu and select “Leave group”.

To remove the chat from your chat list and delete the chat history, tap and hold the chat, and then tap the trash-bin icon.

iOS

Groups created by an iOS or Windows Phone user are deleted as soon as the last member has left the group.

To leave a group on iOS, swipe over the group from right to left (in the chat list or in the group list), and tap “Delete”.

Windows Phone

Groups created by an iOS or Windows Phone user are deleted as soon as the last member has left the group. To leave a group, open the group’s chat, and navigate to “...” > “Group Info” > “...” > “Leave group”.

Other useful topics