- Is there a group chat feature?
- How can I leave or delete a group?
- Can members be added to/deleted from an existing group?
- Trouble with group chats — What can I do?
- Why are my groups missing after importing an exported ID?
- Can administrator privileges be transferred or granted to multiple users?
- How do I mention a member of a group?
- How can I adjust the notification settings for group chats?
Trouble with group chats — What can I do?
Like single chats, group chats are end-to-end encrypted in Threema. For privacy reasons, groups are not managed on our servers but directly on users’ devices. Since there is no information concerning group compositions stored on the server, groups can become asynchronous, e.g., if a user restores a data backup or is absent for an extended period of time.
If a group is asynchronous, we recommend resynchronizing it
first. Only the group administrator can initiate a synchronization (in the group's detail view). Should the problem
persist, please remove the group member due to which the group became asynchronous (see above), and add them
You can access a group's detail view as follows:
- Android: In the group chat, tap on the title bar.
- iOS: In the group chat, tap on the title bar, and then tap on the bar that appears underneath it
(containing tokens of the group members).
If some members cannot see messages in a group chat, it is usually because they have activated the option “Block Unknown”. Disable the “Block Unknown” option in Threema > Settings > Privacy to receive all group-chat messages.