Trouble with group chats — What can I do?

Like single chats, group chats are end-to-end encrypted in Threema. For privacy reasons, groups are not managed on our servers but directly on users’ devices. Since there is no information concerning group compositions stored on the server, groups can become asynchronous, e.g., if a user restores a data backup or is absent for an extended period of time.

If a group is asynchronous, we recommend resynchronizing it first. Only the group administrator can initiate a synchronization (in the group's detail view). Should the problem persist, please remove the group member due to which the group became asynchronous (see above), and add them again.

You can access a group's detail view as follows:

  • Android: In the group chat, tap on the title bar.
  • iOS: In the group chat, tap on the title bar, and then tap on the bar that appears underneath it (containing tokens of the group members).

If some members cannot see messages in a group chat, it is usually because they have activated the option “Block Unknown”. Disable the “Block Unknown” option in Threema > Settings > Privacy to receive all group-chat messages.

Related articles

Only the administrator (i.e., the creator) of a group can add new and remove existing group members.

Open the group details by tapping the group’s profile picture to learn who is the group’s administrator. If you are the administrator, you can add members by tapping “+.”

Show all FAQs

Learn more…

Probleme mit Gruppenchats – Was kann ich tun?

Wie Einzelchats werden bei Threema auch Gruppenchats Ende-zu-Ende-verschlüsselt. Aus Privatsphäre-Gründen werden Gruppen nicht auf unseren Servern, sondern ausschliesslich auf den Geräten der beteiligten Nutzer verwaltet. Da auf den Servern keine Informationen bzgl. der Gruppen-Zusammensetzung gespeichert sind, kann es vorkommen, dass Gruppen asynchron werden. Grund dafür kann z.B. sein, dass ein Teilnehmer ein Backup einspielt oder längere Zeit offline war.

Wir empfehlen, in solchen Fällen die Gruppe neu zu synchronisieren. Nur der Administrator einer Gruppe kann eine Synchronisation anstossen (in den Gruppen-Details). Sollte die Synchronisation das Problem nicht beheben, empfehlen wir, den betreffenden Teilnehmer zu entfernen und neu hinzuzufügen.

Die Gruppen-Details können wie folgt aufgerufen werden:

  • Android: Tippen Sie im Gruppenchat auf die Titelleiste.
  • iOS: Tippen Sie im Gruppenchat auf die Titelleiste und anschliessend auf die direkt darunter erscheinende Leiste. 
  • Windows Phone: Tippen Sie im Gruppenchat auf «…» und anschliessend auf «Gruppen-Info».

Sehen einige Teilnehmer keine Nachrichten im Gruppenchat, haben diese die Option «Unbekannte blockieren» aktiviert. Schalten Sie diese Option in Threema > «Einstellungen» > «Privatsphäre» aus, um alle Nachrichten im Gruppenchat zu erhalten.

Andere hilfreiche Themen