What kind of data is transmitted via push notification services?

iOS

Threema uses the Apple Push Notification Service (APNS) to inform recipients with iOS about new messages while the app is closed or in the background. The APNS message contains a payload that has been encrypted with a symmetric key, which is negotiated between the app and the Threema servers and is not known to Apple.

Within this encrypted payload, the Threema ID and nickname of the sender, the message ID, and the fact whether it is a direct or a group message, are transmitted.

The Notification Extension of the Threema app is started in the background for each incoming push notification, decrypts the push payload, downloads the corresponding message directly from the Threema servers, decrypts it and shows a local message preview (if enabled) and the contact name of the sender.

Android

Threema uses Google Cloud Messaging (GCM) to inform the Threema app of recipients with Android about incoming messages in the background. The app then fetches messages directly from the Threema servers, decrypts them and displays a local notification. Neither contents nor details about messages are transmitted via GCM (the GCM payload is empty).

You can choose whether or not you would like to use Threema with Google Services. The option “Troubleshooting > Activate Polling” allows you to use Threema without GCM. However, we don't recommend this.

The development of a custom push-service is difficult, since its reliability depends on numerous factors. We are therefore consciously using the recognized push services of Apple, Google and Microsoft. They are already installed on the vast majority of devices. Furthermore, channelling push notifications saves battery power.

Other useful topics

Quel type de données sont transmises via les services de notification push ?

iOS

Threema utilise le service de notifications Push Apple (APNS) pour informer les destinataires sous iOS de nouveaux messages lorsque l'application est fermée ou exécutée en arrière plan. Le message APNS contient une charge de données cryptées avec une clé symétrique, qui est négociée entre l'application et les serveurs Threema et n'est pas connue d'Apple.

Dans cette charge de données cryptées, l'identifiant Threema et le pseudo de l'expéditeur, l'identifiant du message et sa nature (message direct ou de groupe), sont transmis.

L'application Threema est lancée en arrière-plan pour chaque notification push entrante, décrypte la charge de données push, télécharge directement le message correspondant depuis les serveurs Threema, le décrypte et affiche un aperçu local du message (si activé) et le nom de contact de l'expéditeur.

Android

Threema utilise Firebase Cloud Messaging (FCM) pour informer les utilisateurs Android de messages entrants en arrière-plan. L'application récupère ensuite directement les messages depuis les serveurs Threema, les décrypte et affiche une notification locale. Ni le contenu, ni les détails des messages ne sont transmis via FCM (la charge de données FCM est vide) et tous les composants de suivi et d'analyse de Firebase ont été retirés.

Vous avez le choix d'utiliser les services Google pour les notifications push de Threema : l'option « Paramètres > À propos de Threema > Résolution des problèmes > Interrogation d'activation » vous permet d'utiliser Threema sans FCM. Cependant, nous ne recommandons pas cette option.

Le développement d'un service push personnalisé est difficile, sa fiabilité dépendant de nombreux facteurs. C'est pourquoi nous utilisons délibérément les services push éprouvés d'Apple et Google. Ils sont déjà installés sur la plupart des appareils. De plus, la canalisation des notifications push permet d'économiser de la batterie.