What’s special about Threema’s privacy protection?

Comprehensive privacy protection requires solid message encryption, but there is more to it.

Full anonymity

Threema can be used without providing any personal information whatsoever; linking a phone number and/or email address to your Threema ID is optional.

Optional contact synchronization

Synchronizing your address book in order to retrieve your contacts’ Threema IDs (provided they have linked them, see above) is optional. If you don’t want to grant access to your address book, you can either scan your contacts’ Threema IDs or add them manually.

In case you enable contact synchronization or link your ID with a phone number or email address, you can rest assured that Threema uses this information only temporarily for the specified purpose. Personal information is always hashed, both in transit and on disk.

Metadata restraint

All data involved in communication other than the actual content is metadata. Serious privacy protection must include both protection of content and protection of metadata. The sole protection of content is insufficient because metadata allows to uniquely identify individuals, analyze their behavior, determine their circles of friends, detect their frequent locations, and monitor their communication behavior. Combined with data from other platforms, the picture that can be drawn of a person is much more detailed than one that could ever be drawn from message contents alone. It’s likely that many messengers are used to systematically collect and analyze users’ metadata. Threema, on the other hand, generates as little data as technically possible and only stores it as long as absolutely necessary.

Plugins on Android

On Android, separate plugins are required in order to record and send voice messages and to use the QR scanner. If you don’t want to use these features, you don’t need to grant access to your device’s camera or microphone.


To learn more about the differences between Threema and WhatsApp in regard to privacy protection, please consult this comparison: The Threema Advantage

Other useful topics

En quoi la protection de la vie privée de Threema est si spéciale ?

Une protection totale de la vie privée requiert un chiffrement solide des messages, mais cela ne s'arrête pas là.

Anonymité complète

Threema peut être utilisée sans fournir aucune information personnelle. Plutôt qu'un numéro de téléphone, c'est l'identifiant Threema (une série de huit chiffres à génération aléatoire) qui fait office d'identifiant unique. Lier un numéro de téléphone et/ou une adresse e-mail à un identifiant Threema est facultatif.

Réduction des métadonnées

Toutes les données impliquées dans une communication autres que le contenu réel sont des métadonnées. Une protection fiable de la vie privée doit comporter à la fois la protection du contenu et la protection des métadonnées. La seule protection du contenu ne suffit pas, car les métadonnées permettent une identification unique des individus, l'analyse de leur comportement, l'identification de leurs cercles d'amis, la détection de leurs emplacements fréquents et la surveillance de leur comportement de communication. Si elles sont combinées aux données provenant d'autres plateformes, il est possible de dresser le portrait d'une personne bien plus détaillé que celui uniquement créé à partir du seul contenu des messages. De nombreuses messageries sont susceptibles d'être utilisées pour collecter et analyser systématiquement les métadonnées de leurs utilisateurs. Threema, en revanche, génère aussi peu de données qu'il est techniquement possible et ne les stocke que pendant une durée rigoureusement nécessaire.

Synchronisation facultative des contacts

La synchronisation de votre carnet d'adresses pour récupérer les identifiants Threema de vos contacts (à condition qu'ils les aient associés, voir ci-dessus) est facultative. Si vous ne souhaitez pas accorder l'accès à votre carnet d'adresses, vous pouvez soit scanner les identifiants Threema de vos contacts ou les ajouter manuellement.

Si vous activez la synchronisation de vos contacts ou associez votre identifiant à un numéro de téléphone ou une adresse e-mail, vous avez la certitude que Threema n'utilise ces informations que temporairement aux fins spécifiées. Les informations personnelles sont toujours hachées, que ce soit en transit ou sur disque.

Pour découvrir comment Threema tient tête à d'autres messageries en matière de protection de la vie privée, veuillez consulter le comparatif des messageries.