How can I reinstall Threema without paying again?
Moving to a different operating system
Since the different app stores (Apple App Store, Google Play, and Huawei AppGallery) don’t share their license data, Threema has to be purchased again when switching to a different platform.
Important data, such as your Threema ID and your contacts, can be transferred using Threema Safe. Threema Safe backups do not include chats, media files, and profile pictures of contacts and groups.
Reinstalling Threema on the same operating system
Purchase via App Store, Google Play, or Huawei AppGallery
After resetting your phone or switching to a new phone, it may be necessary to reinstall Threema. The App Store (iOS) as well as Google Play and the Huawei AppGallery (Android) allow to reinstall any purchased app at no additional cost. The only requirement is that you use the same store account (i.e., the same Apple ID or Google account, etc.) you used for the initial purchase. The store then will display an “Install” button instead of a “Buy” button. In case you still see a “Buy” button, please follow these instructions.
Purchase via Threema-Shop
If you have purchased the Android version in our store, you can download and then reinstall it with the same license key. If you have lost your license key, you can retrieve it. Please note: Threema versions from the Google Play Store are not unlocked using a license key, and you can't retrieve a license for a Google Play Store version. Because Google Play’s and the Threema Shop’s terms are not identical, licences can’t be transferred between the two sales platforms.
Paid apps are sold by different providers (Apple and Google). These providers don’t share license data. Hence, it is impossible to move licenses from one platform to another. For this reason, the app has to be purchased again for the new operating system when switching from one platform to another.
Use Threema Safe to transfer your most important Threema data to the new OS.