How can I give Threema permission to access my photos?

If you have accidentally answered “No” when asked whether you want to allow Threema to access your photos, you can grant permission as here:

iOS Settings > Privacy > Photos > Threema

If Threema is not listed in the location mentioned above, please remove restrictions for Threema:

  • iOS 12: iOS > Settings > Screen Time > Restrictions > Photos > Allow Changes
  • iOS 11 and earlier: iOS > Settings > General > Restrictions > Photos > Allow Changes

Related articles

Please perform the following steps to troubleshoot problems with push notifications (and/or if you’re having trouble re-establishing a connection to the desktop app or the web client) on iOS:

  • Navigate to to “iPhone Settings > Notifications > Threema”. Ensure that badges, alerts and sounds are turned on.
  • Turn off your phone.
  • Turn your phone back on.
  • Open Threema and wait for 30 seconds in order for it to re-negotiate push notifications with the server.
  • Push notifications should now be working.
  • If only a certain contact is affected by the push issue, please make sure that push notifications for the contact in question are not disabled (navigate to the contact details, scroll down, and choose the option “Off” in “Notification settings > Do not disturb”).

Also make sure you’re not connected to a Wi-Fi network that blocks the ports that Apple uses for push notifications (try turning off Wi-Fi to see if push notifications work).

Please note that push notifications have to be delivered using the APNS service from Apple. Threema cannot influence the reliability of this service and cannot solve any issues with APNS. Issues that you notice with push notifications in Threema might be caused by the APNS service.

If the steps above did not resolve the issue, please get in touch with Apple’s support. If Apple is unable to help, the issue can be resolved by re-installing the app as described in our guide on advanced push notification debugging as a last resort.

In some cases (e.g., when the memory usage is high or the battery level low), incoming push notifications can’t be decrypted in the background. In these rare cases, a generic notification (“Message” or “Group Message”) will be displayed.

There are two ways to share files using Threema on iOS.

Select the files in Threema: In a conversation, tap the plus sign (“+”) next to the input box, and select “Share File”. Then, choose the app that hosts the file you would like to share (e.g. Contacts), select the file, and confirm by tapping “OK”.

Select the files in another app: In the app of your choice, select the file you would like to share, tap the Share Button, choose “Open in Threema” (depending on the app, you might need to tap “Open in…” first), select the contact you would like to send the file to, and confirm by tapping “Send”.

The latest version of Threema runs on iOS 10 and up. You can continue to use older Threema versions on your pre-iOS 10 device, but you won't be able to update to newer versions.

Older Threema versions don’t support all the features newer versions provide, and it’s advisable to install the lastest Threema version whenever possible.

Here are the last supported Threema versions for each iOS version:

  • iOS 5: Threema 2.4.2
  • iOS 6: Threema 2.5.0
  • iOS 7: Threema 2.6.2
  • iOS 8: Threema 2.10.2
  • iOS 9: Threema 4.2.3

The effort needed to offer compatibility with older iOS versions is substantial. For this reason, we need to drop support for older iOS versions from time to time when we release larger updates.

In Threema, navigate to Settings > Chat > Font Size to adjust the font size. If “Use system font size” is selected, the system-wide setting in iOS Settings > Display & Brightness > Text Size will be used.

Adjust the notification settings of a single or group chat like this in the iOS app:

  • Open the desired chat, and tap the title bar. Then, tap the bell (or “Stop” or “@”) symbol in the bar that appears below the title bar to open the notification settings.
  • Activate “Do Not Disturb” to disable notifications (for a certain duration). In group chats, the option "Notify when mentioned" is available: If activated, you will only receive notifications for messages in which you are mentioned.
  • Deactivate “Play notification sound” to mute notifications; you will still receive notifications, but no notification sound is played.

This message is related to the Family Sharing feature of iOS; Threema does not have any influence on it. However, problems with Family Sharing can usually be solved by offloading and reinstalling the affected app.

Go to iOS Settings > General > iPhone Storage > Threema and choose “Offload App”. When this has completed, start Threema again. The system should automatically reinstall Threema without losing any data.

In and of itself, Threema does not provide an option to save chats on iCloud. If, however, you have chosen to save device backups on iCloud, all app data, including Threema chats, will be stored on iCloud.

Neither is there a way for third-party apps like Threema to control this behavior, nor can such apps detect whether iCloud device backups are enabled or not. Even though apps can exclude individual files from backups, these files are excluded from all backups, also from encrypted iTunes backups. Therefore, we recommend to either create iTunes backups instead of iCloud backups or to exclude Threema if you must create iCloud backups.

Threema Work admins can use the MDM parameter th_disable_system_backups to prevent iCloud and iTunes from including Threema Work data in backups. As mentioned above, it is, however, not possible to only allow iTunes backups.

To learn more about security aspects of iCloud backups, please refer to this Apple article.

Show all FAQs

Learn more…

Comment puis-je accorder à Threema l'autorisation d'accès à mes photos ?

Si vous avez accidentellement répondu « Non » lorsque vous avez été invité(e) à autoriser Threema à accéder à vos photos, vous pouvez accorder cette autorisation ici :

  • Réglages iOS > Confidentialité > Photos > Threema

Si Threema ne figure pas à l'emplacement mentionné ci-dessus, veuillez retirer toutes les restrictions pour Threema :

  • iOS 12 : Réglages iOS > Temps d'écran > Restrictions > Photos > Autoriser les modifications
  • iOS 11 et versions plus anciennes : Réglages iOS > Général > Restrictions > Photos > Autoriser les modifications

Ceci peut également être utile

Veuillez effectuer les étapes suivantes pour corriger les problèmes liés aux notifications push (et/ou si vous éprouvez des difficultés à rétablir une connexion avec l'application desktop ou le client web) sur iOS :

  1. Accédez aux Réglages de l'iPhone > Notifications > Threema. Assurez-vous que les badges, alertes et sons sont bien activés.
  2. Éteignez votre téléphone.
  3. Rallumez votre téléphone.
  4. Ouvrez Threema pour que l'application puisse renégocier les notifications push avec le serveur.
  5. Les notifications push devraient maintenant fonctionner à nouveau.
  6. Si seul un contact spécifique est concerné par le problème des notifications push, veuillez vous assurer que les notifications push pour le contact en question ne sont pas désactivées (accédez aux détails du contact, faites défiler vers le bas et  désactivez  « Pas de notifications push » si ce réglage est activé).

Assurez-vous également de n'être pas connecté(e) à un réseau Wi-Fi bloquant les ports utilisés par Apple pour les notifications push (essayez de désactiver le Wi-Fi pour vérifier si cette action réactive les notifications push).

Dans certains cas (p.ex., lorsque l'utilisation de la mémoire est élevée ou que le niveau de la batterie est faible), les notifications push entrantes ne peuvent être décryptées en arrière-plan. Dans ces rares cas, une notification générique (« Message » ou « Message de groupe ») s'affiche.

Le partage de fichiers via Threema sur iOS peut s'effectuer de deux manières.

Sélectionner les fichiers dans Threema: dans une conversation, touchez le signe plus (« + ») à côté de la case de saisie et sélectionnez « Partager le fichier ». Puis, choisissez l'application hébergeant le fichier que vous souhaitez partager (p.ex. Contacts), sélectionnez le fichier et confirmez en touchant « OK ».

Sélectionner les fichiers dans une autre application : dans l'application de votre choix, sélectionnez le fichier que vous souhaitez partager, touchez le bouton de partage, choisissez « Ouvrir dans Threema » (selon l'application, vous devrez peut-être d'abord toucher « Ouvrir sous... »), sélectionnez le contact auquel vous souhaitez envoyer le fichier et confirmez en touchant « Envoyer ».

La version la plus récente de Threema fonctionne sous iOS 10 et versions supérieures. Vous pouvez continuer à utiliser des versions plus anciennes de Threema sur un appareil tournant sur des SE antérieurs à iOS 10, mais vous ne serez pas en mesure de mettre à niveau vers des versions plus récentes.

Voici les dernières versions de Threema prises en charge par chaque version iOS :

  • iOS 5 : Threema 2.4.2
  • iOS 6 : Threema 2.5.0
  • iOS 7 : Threema 2.6.2
  • iOS 8 : Threema 2.10.2
  • iOS 9 : Threema 4.2.3

L'effort requis pour offrir une compatibilité avec les anciennes versions d'iOS est considérable. Pour cette raison, nous nous voyons contraints d'abandonner l'assistance pour les versions les plus anciennes d'iOS au fil des sorties des mises à niveau plus conséquentes.

Dans Threema, naviguez dans Réglages > Fenêtre de chat > Taille de police pour ajuster la taille de police. Si « Taille de police du système » est sélectionné, le paramètre de l'ensemble du système sous Réglages iOS > Affichage et luminosité > Taille du texte sera utilisé.

Ajustez les paramètres de notification d'un chat individuel ou de groupe comme ceci dans l'application iOS :

  • ouvrez le chat souhaité et touchez la barre du titre. Puis, touchez le symbole cloche (ou « Stop » ou « @ ») dans la barre qui apparaît sous la barre du titre pour ouvrir les paramètres de notification.
  • Activez « Ne pas déranger » pour désactiver les notifications (pendant une durée déterminée). Dans les chats de groupe, l'option « Notifier si mentionné » est disponible : si elle est activée, vous ne recevez de notifications que pour les messages dans lesquels vous êtes mentionné(e).
  • Désactivez « Jouer un son de notification » pour mettre en sourdine les notifications ; les notifications vous sont alors tout de même envoyées, mais aucun son de notification n'est émis.

Ce message est lié à la fonctionnalité Partage familial sous iOS ; Threema n'a aucune influence sur cette fonctionnalité. Toutefois, les problèmes liés au Partage familial peuvent généralement être résolus en désinstallant et en réinstallant l'application concernée.

Accédez au Réglages iOS > Général > Stockage iPhone > Threema et choisissez « Désinstaller l'application ». Une fois cela effectué, relancez à nouveau Threema. Le système devrait réinstaller automatiquement Threema sans perdre aucune donnée.

Dans l'absolu, Threema ne propose pas d'option de sauvegarde des conversations sur iCloud. Toutefois, si vous avez choisi d'enregistrer les sauvegardes de l'appareil sur iCloud, toutes les données d'application, y compris les conversations Threema, seront stockées sur iCloud.

Les applications tierces telles que Threema n'ont aucun moyen de contrôler ce comportement, pas plus que de détecter l'activation ou non activation des sauvegardes de l'appareil sur iCloud. Même si les applications peuvent exclure des sauvegardes de certains fichiers spécifiques, ces fichiers sont alors exclus de toutes les sauvegardes, notamment des sauvegardes cryptées d'iTunes. C'est pourquoi nous recommandons de créer des sauvegardes iTunes plutôt que des sauvegardes iCloud ou d'exclure Threema si vous devez créer des sauvegardes iCloud.

Les administrateurs de Threema peuvent utiliser le paramètre MDM th_disable_system_backups pour éviter toute inclusion par iCloud et iTunes des données Threema Work dans les sauvegardes. Comme mentionné plus haut, il n'est cependant pas possible de n'autoriser que les sauvegardes iTunes.

Afficher toutes les FAQ

Afficher toutes les FAQ