Profile Picture Generator

Show your support for data privacy! Add the #RegainPrivacy banner to your profile picture:

Drop image here or click to select Image will not be uploaded to a server; banner is applied locally.
Something went wrong. Please try again. JPEG or PNG, min. 400 × 400 px
Profile Picture Is Ready for Download Thank you for helping to raise awareness for data privacy!

Stand up for privacy! Add the #RegainPrivacy banner to your profile picture in chat apps and on social media to show that you care about privacy and disapprove of mass surveillance by authorities and exploitation of user data by Big Tech.

The Data Privacy Day is an international awareness day that was initiated by the Council of Europe (not to be confused with the European Council) back in 2008 and is held annually on January 28.

This date was chosen because on January 28, 1981, the Council of Europe proposed its “Convention 108,” which is the first internationally binding agreement to protect personal data and could be considered to be a precursor to, or inspiration for, the GDPR.

Since 2008, various organizations, both governmental and non-governmental, educational institutions, and companies use this opportunity to make a case for privacy and point out the inherent dangers of systematic data collection by tech corporations and government agencies.

For one thing, privacy is a basic human right that’s valuable and worthy of protection in and of itself. For another, it is an important corner stone of democratic societies. And last but not least, there’s simply no way of knowing what kind of inferences can be drawn about individuals in the future by means of the tremendous amount of collected user data in conjunction with new technologies such as artificial intelligence.

Profilbild-Generator

Setzen Sie ein Zeichen für Datenschutz! Bringen Sie auf Ihrem Profilbild das #RegainPrivacy-Banner an:

Bild hierhin ziehen oder zum Auswählen klicken Bild wird nicht auf einen Server geladen; Banner wird lokal hinzugefügt.
Ein Fehler ist aufgetreten, bitte versuchen Sie’s erneut. Bild-Anforderungen: JPEG oder PNG, mind. 400 × 400 px
Profilbild steht zum Download bereit Danke, dass Sie zur Sensibilisierung für Datenschutz beitragen!

Fügen Sie auf Ihrem Profilbild in Chat-Apps und auf Sozialen Netzwerken das #RegainPrivacy-Banner hinzu. Zeigen Sie Ihrem Umfeld, dass Sie Massenüberwachung durch Behörden und Vermarktung von Nutzerdaten durch Tech-Giganten ablehnen.

Der Datenschutztag ist ein internationaler Aktionstag, der 2008 vom Europarat (nicht zu verwechseln mit dem Europäischen Rat) ins Leben gerufen wurde und seither alljährlich am 28. Januar stattfindet.

Dieses Datum wurde gewählt, weil der Europarat am 28. Januar 1981 die «Konvention 108» zur Unterzeichnung auflegte, welche das erste international verbindliche Abkommen zum Schutz personenbezogener Daten darstellt und als Vorläufer der EU-Datenschutz-Grundverordnung angesehen werden kann.

Seit 2008 nutzen verschiedenste Organisationen (sowohl staatliche als auch regierungsunabhängige), Bildungseinrichtungen und Unternehmen diesen Anlass, um für konsequenten Datenschutz zu plädieren und auf die inhärenten Gefahren systematischer Datenerhebung durch Tech-Konzerne und staatliche Stellen hinzuweisen.

Zum einen ist Privatsphäre ein grundlegendes Menschenrecht, das intrinsischen Wert hat. Zum anderen ist sie ein unverzichtbarer Eckpfeiler demokratischer Gesellschaften. Und zu guter Letzt ist völlig unabsehbar, welche Rückschlüsse über einzelne Individuen mit Hilfe der ungeheuren Datenmengen und neuer Technologien wie der künstlichen Intelligenz in Zukunft möglich sein werden.